Middle East Revolutions

The vaunted effectiveness of the Internet services Facebook and Twitter appear to be not equal to the guns and aircraft strafing being used in Libya along with the media blackout.  We have only rumors and few facts so we really don’t know what’s going on except from debriefing of refugees and defectors from the Libyan military and diplomatic corps.

I have been following the events in the Middle East with great interest and have noted the differences of how things have played out in each country.  In Egypt and Bahrain, where the US has more leverage and therefore clout to impose restraint, we have seen a more moderate revolution.  In Libya we have less influence and more conflicts with strategic interests because of their oil wealth.  Tunisia was the first and seems to be ignored by the media now that the unrest has spread.

I have continued to periodically monitor Tweetdeck and Aljazeera/English.com on my computer and get much better coverage than what is presented in the US newspapers and TV news.  Of course, much of the internal communication within those countries is via cell phone traffic, which the NSA presumably is monitoring.

The US government is struggling to adapt its 50-year-old policies favoring the Arab sheikdoms and puppet kings that the colonial powers and the oil companies put in place.  Commentators have noted that the rise of democracy in the Middle East may remove one of the trump cards in Al Qaeda recruitment that bred on resentment from poverty, inequality, and class distinction.  They have been able to blame the US for the policies of these repressive regimes and for the stalemate in peace negotiations between Israel and the Palestinians, the root cause of terrorism in the Middle East.

My focus on analyzing the political situation has not distracted me from my New Year’s resolution to analyze my marketing strategies and to evaluate my web sites, blog, and queries.  I’m still trying to find the right niche for my style of writing that I think will be more of a determination in future success than my background and experience and extensive use of the Internet.  I’m meeting with an experienced writing coach to review all of my marketing for 2010 to see where and how I might change direction in my approaches to potential clients.  I will post later what we conclude.

 

 

Comments Off on Middle East Revolutions

Filed under Op-Ed

Comments are closed.