Manuscript rewrites

I just got back the 2nd mark-up of my article on eldercare. I feel as though I’m back in a college creative writing class, but the comments have been helpful and the criticism correct. I was trying to fit a textbook into a 3,000-word article with several personal opinions and tangents thrown in just to confuse the reader. I guess I got a little arrogant because an article of mine was published last year without a word changed. When does a writer need to seek outside editorial advice before even submitting a manuscript? If you have an assignment, then you can work with your publication editor, but if you’re writing on spec where do you turn for help? I know, some folks say don’t write on spec. Hone your queries to where you get assignments before you start, but clearly I need the practice.

Comments Off on Manuscript rewrites

Filed under freelance writing

Comments are closed.