Query letters

I’m working on a couple of query letters.  I submitted one to Insiders’ Guides to help revise and update the North Carolina Triangle edition based on a new listing in Funds for Writers blog.  I put up a comment on the freelancers blog on Yahoo hosted by Writer’s Digest asking for recommendations about Writers Relief Service.  The response was that it was legit but why not just study and revise your letters and potential markets yourself.  When I called them I found out that they only provide service in marketing to literary journals and not consumer magazines.

Of course I have Writers Markets in print and online, and I just received “The Best of Magazine Markets for Writers 2009” and have studied the listings and studied the samples in “The Writer’s Guide to Query Letters”, but I still don’t feel confident enough to approach national publications.  I’ve worked the local and regional markets and gotten some assignments, but I figure I’ve only got one shot with the nationals so I better get it right because I won’t have another chance.  I guess I could wait six months and try again because the editor or assistant probably wouldn’t remember my original request, but that seems risky.  

Am I just stuck in writer’s block?

Comments Off on Query letters

Filed under freelance writing

Comments are closed.