Dealing with Rejection

Everyone was back at work at the office Monday, so I got two email rejection notices within an hour of each other.  One was for a follow-up article for a magazine which published a  feature of mine last summer.  The other was a special project for a business client that would have been an on-going contract that might have lasted as long as a year.  It was a black Monday, but those incidents have to be expected when you free-lance.  It’s been hard to get back in the groove this week, particularly with the distraction of more computer problems.  It never rains but when it pours, and it did that too Wednesday night with 60 MPH winds and blowing rain right at evening rush hour.  Well, at least we’ve not had several feet of snow like the upper half of the country.  I’m re-reading Writer’s Digest Handbook of Magazine Article Writing to try to motivate myself to get off the can and send out some more queries, but it hasn’t worked so far.  I woke up at 5 am this morning (the time when I’m usually inspired), but I was just having trouble sleeping.  I was more concerned about paying bills than researching new clients.  I admit it; I’m lazy.  Unless it is a project or a periodical that particularly interests me, I’m slow to get motivated.  It’s not a question of a New Year’s resolution; it’s the lack of resolve that is the issue.  I know the old adage that you have to write something for a specified time every day is what is required, but my cluttered mind lets too many distractions get in the way.  I would rather plan a trip or watch a movie, or do anything besides work.  Writing is work for me, is it for you?

Comments Off on Dealing with Rejection

Filed under freelance writing

Comments are closed.