My current reading list

For those who have followed this blog in the past, I’m reverting to an occasional topic of book reviews. I have written about the books I’ve read and liked, and they have covered a wide range of subjects. Although I read the New York Review of Books, I usually don’t buy their books because they’re mostly academic, political, or literary. I pick up my books on Amazon from Charlie Rose, Fareed Zakari, and Bill Moyers. I prefer to say that they offer a progressive viewpoint rather than a liberal bent as that is how I view myself. I’m very conservative and traditional in many aspects but I’m out front on social issues. Particularly I’m concerned about the financial debacle of the past decade and the rise of the oligarchies in the United States. We’ve sold our government to the highest bidder so it has become corrupt, and corporations dictate not only tax policies but many social issues.
On this post rather than comment on a single book, I’m going to list some of the most recent books in my Kindle Library:

The Beginners Guide to E-Books by Gary McLaren
The Blood Sugar Solution by Mark Hyman
End This Depression Now by Paul Krugman
The Price of Inequality by Joseph Stiglitz
Queer America: A GLBT History of 20th Century America by Vicki L. Eaklor
This Used to be Us: How America Fell Behind in the World It Invented and How We
Can Come Back by Thomas Friedman
Who Stole the American Dream? By Hedrick Smith

I’ve also read several books about the newest Apple Macintosh OS 10 version and how to use the iPhone 5 and iPad, but I think those would appeal only to the technies. About six months ago I went off on a tangent and read several books about Neuro Linguistic Programming. Don’t ask what it means; it is part of the underlying psychological techniques of advertising and hypnotism. In other words, using language for more than just direct communications. If that sounds sinister; it’s not. We just usually are not conscious of the implications and connotations of our speech or writing and the emotional or psychological effects they may have.
As I mentioned in the post about my new web site, I’ve quit magazine writing and am focusing on my books for now so I won’t talk as much about freelancing as I used to do. I know that I’m supposed to be more consistent, and that this rant has rambled all over the place. But that’s why I think that rant is a good word for it because I have many interests, and my focus varies over time. I could go on about aging issues, public transportation, civil rights, social and economic inequality, and so on, but I do try to limit my range somewhat.
So what is your pet peeve?

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.